CSA T20 Challenge

The original name for this tournament is CSA T20 Challenge. It has been named Ram Slam T20 Challenge because because the company Ram has been sponsoring them over the later years, and just recently agreed to continue their sponsorship for 2017/18 as well.

The CSA T20 Challenge was introduced to the South African public back in 2003-2004 and has been a huge success from day one. Given the huge surge of popularity that the Twenty20 format of cricket had experienced around the world, South African cricket wanted to capitalize on that fact by giving the country it’s very own domestic cup.

The idea behind creating this tournament was to attract new fans to the sport, where T20 is considered a more viewer friendly type of cricket, where it is very fast paced and matches generally only lasts for a couple of hours. This would hopefully entice more fans to come out to games and cheer for their favorite teams.

It was also the intention of Cricket South Africa to create an arena for newer and up-and-coming South African players to be able to showcase their skills to the rest of the world and practice for the international matches. South Africa has for long been considered a strong national team, but hasn’t quite been able to get to the top. Creating this setting for the players would get them to practice competing fiercely and maybe get a chance to play in the biggest T20 leagues in the world, like the IPL or the Big Bash League.

Best CSA T20 Challenge Betting Sites



Welcome Bonus 100% up to ₹30,000 Exclusive
Bet Now New Customers Only. 18+. T&Cs Apply.


Welcome Bonus 100% up to ₹20,000 Exclusive
Bet Now New Customers Only. 18+. T&Cs Apply.


Welcome Bonus 100% up to ₹10,000 Exclusive
Bet Now New Customers Only. 18+. T&Cs Apply.

CSA T20 2019 Group Points Table

Team Played Wins Losses Points Net Run Rate
Lions 10 5 2 28 0.523
Warriors 10 4 2 25 0.363
Cape Cobras 10 5 4 23 -0.352
Dolphins 10 3 3 21 0.226
Titans 10 3 4 19 -0.050
Knights 10 0 5 10 -0.869

CSA T20 Challenge 2019 Results

May 05, 2019
203/4 in 20.0
192/10 in 19.2
CSA T20 Challenge 2019 - Final Match
LIONS won by 11 runs
Match Center
May 01, 2019
172/7 in 20.0
Cape Cobras
157/8 in 20.0
CSA T20 Challenge 2019 - 2nd Semi-Final Match
Warriors won by 15 runs
No Info
164/2 in 18.4
163/8 in 20.0
CSA T20 Challenge 2019 - 1st Semi-Final Match
Lions won by 8 wickets
Match Center

History of the Ram Slam T20 Challenge

The first ever tournament in the Ram Slam T20 tournament were held back in 2003-2004, when it was called the Standard Bank Pro20. It consisted of 6 teams (the same as today) and was won by the Chevrolet Knights (then known as the Diamond Eagles). For the 2007-2008 season, they added a 7th team to compete in the tournament, which was a the national team of Zimbabwe. This was done in order to try to improve the countries skill level, letting them compete against tough opposition. A nice gesture I must say, and a win-win for the sport of cricket overall.

The association of cricket in South Africa did plenty to try to increase the exposure and interest surrounding the event, and have been successful to a good degree. They built better stadiums and utilized social media actively to create hype around the games and people have been coming regularly.

For the 2011-2012 season the tournament changed the name to MiWay T20 Challenge, and before the last season it got changed to the name which it is known for today, the Ram Slam T20 Challenge.

Historic Results

The tournament has been played ten times since its inception in 2003-2004, and the competition is very close and fierce. The Titans has won it the most times, sitting at 3 trophies, and the Knights, Cobras and Lions are right behind with 2 each. The Warriors only have one championship win, while the Dolphins has yet to win the tournament. This leads us to believe that we will have a close fought battle the years to come as well.

Teams Competing

For this tournament we have the same 6 teams competing every year. There is no qualifications needed, the same teams are invited back to play every year. It has happened that some teams has been invited to play, and we might see som changes in the future, but for now the six teams that are competing are set.

The following teams are taking part in the Ram Slam T20 Challenge:

  • Cobras
  • Dolphins
  • Knights
  • Lions
  • Titans
  • Warriors

Tournament Format

The playing format is a double round-robin, where every team meets plays the others two times, both home and away and score points base on winning, drawing or losing the games. The team that finishes first after these matches have been played advances to the final match immediately, while second place and third place play the single semifinal to determine who will play against the first place finisher.

All of the games will be played over the course of a little less than a month, including the playoffs, so it is a quick tournament.

Betting on the Ram Slam T20 Challenge

Given that this is another one of the smaller cricket tournaments makes it harder to find places that offers bets on the games that are being played. Your best bet as usual would be to check the betting sites that you use, or go through our list of betting sites and find one you like. Bet365 is usually considered the best of the bunch, but Betway has a slightly larger selection of games they allow bets on. You have to determine which kind of features you prefer and go from there.

Free Cricket Betting Tips

Sign up to our newsletter and receive daily FREE cricket betting tips and betting offers to your email!