Tamil Nadu Premier League

The Tamil Nadu Premier League is a cricketing league that was created by the Tamil Nadu Cricket Association. Often shortened to the TNPL, the Tamil Nadu Premier League has not received the sort of praise and acclaim that has been afforded to the bigger domestic leagues in India and around the world, but it is a growing league and one that has a strong fanbase nonetheless.

Best Tamil Nadu Premier League Betting Sites



Welcome Bonus 100% up to ₹30,000 Exclusive
Bet Now New Customers Only. 18+. T&Cs Apply.


Welcome Bonus 100% up to ₹20,000 Exclusive
Bet Now New Customers Only. 18+. T&Cs Apply.


Welcome Bonus 100% up to ₹10,000 Exclusive
Bet Now New Customers Only. 18+. T&Cs Apply.

TNPL 2019 Groups Points Table

Team Played Wins Losses Points Net Run Rate
Dindigul Dragons 7 6 1 12 0.694
Chepauk Super Gillies 7 5 2 10 1.391
Madurai Panthers 7 5 2 10 0.703
VB Kanchi Veerans 7 4 3 8 0.552
Lyca Kovai Kings 7 4 3 8 0.255
TUTI Patriots 7 2 5 4 -1.151
Ruby Trichy Warriors 7 1 6 2 -0.486
Karaikudi Kaalai 7 1 6 2 -2.019

Tamil Nadu Premier League 2019 Results

Aug 15, 2019
Chepauk Super Gillies
126/8 in 20.0
Dindigul Dragons
114/9 in 20.0
Tamil Nadu Premier League 2019 - Final Match
Chepauk Super Gillies won by 12 runs
Match Center
Aug 13, 2019
Dindigul Dragons
175/6 in 20.0
Madurai Panthers
130/10 in 19.5
Tamil Nadu Premier League 2019 - 2nd Qualifier Match
Dindigul Dragons won by 45 runs
Match Center
Aug 11, 2019
Madurai Panthers
152/5 in 20.0
VB Kanchi Veerans
151/6 in 20.0
Tamil Nadu Premier League 2019 - Eliminator Match
Madurai Panthers won by 5 wkts
Match Center

Tamil Nadu and Sport

Tamil Nadu is one of the many Indian states, sitting in the southernmost part of the country. It is responsible for a significant slice of India’s GDP, being the second richest state in the region and contributing the equivalent of around $200 billion US dollars to the economy every year. The goal of the Tamil Nadu Premier League was to create a league that could promote this region, its players, its team and the sponsors, owners and investors that oversee them.

It is an area that has always been rich in natural resources, and its cities have been meccas for music, film and literature over the years. However, until the formation of the TNPL, there wasn’t a great deal with regards to sport. The Tamil Nadu Premier League was seen as something that could thrust this region back into the sporting world, taking advantage of a growing interest in all forms of professional sport in India and doing something to improve the global status of the Indian state.

The Tamil Nadu Premier League Basics

There has been a lot of interest in the Tamil Nadu Premier League, with sponsorship money, big players and TV networks attracted to it. There was a big opening ceremony that featured TNCA President and Indian Captain MS Dhoni, as well as performances by many Indian stars. Chris Gayle, one of the biggest names in cricket over the last couple decades, has made a point of visiting the games, as have players like Suresh Raina and Dean Jones.

The league itself is based on a T20 format, with a point-based league table giving way to a knockout stage that begins at the semi-final. It’s quick, it’s short, it’s full of action and interest—it’s everything that modern cricket should be. It’s essentially a format that is mirrored by big leagues across the nation and the continent, and one that has worked very well for all involved.

Tamil Nadu Premier League Teams

There were a total of 8 teams brought during the inaugural season of the Tamil Nadu Premier League. These include the following:

  • Chepauk Super Gillies: The beaten finalists during the first season were also the second most expensive team, costing the equivalent of around $800,000 USD. Owned by a television network, they topped the points table during the opening season and were many fans’ favorites for the final, only to be pipped at the post by their new rivals, the Patriots.
  • Lyca Kovai Kings: The Kings are owned by Lyca Productions, who made their name developing and distributing films throughout the country. Their headquarters is in Chennai and the team plays in Coinmatore. In the opening season they were beaten in the semi-final after looking very capable until that point.
  • Dindigul Dragons: The Dragons are owned by TAKE Solutions, who purchased them for a total of just over half a million USD during the opening season. They finished second on the points table for that season, but they didn’t perform as expected or perhaps as they should have done during the knockout stages. They have since gone on to be one of the most cost effective teams in the league, remaining a threat despite being the second lowest cost franchise.
  • Ruby Kanchi Warriors: Owned by a building company, the Warriors are based in Kancheepuram and finished second from the bottom during the opening season. The franchise cost around $570,000. This team officially changed their name to the Ruby Trichy Warriors in 2017.
  • Karaikudi Kaalai: They are owned by Chettinad Apparels and were the cheapest franchise, costing a fraction over half a million US dollars. Despite this, they have not been the whipping boys of the league and have made a good showing of themselves.
  • Madurai Super Giants: The Super Giants have been the biggest under-performers in the league thus far, finishing bottom of the points table in the opening season and being the only team not to earn a single point. They have since set about trying to earn back the $600k+ that was paid for them by Kothari Ltd during the franchise purchase stage. This team officially changed their name to the Madurai Super Giant in 2017.
  • TUTI Patriots: This was the most expensive team bought during the initial franchise offering, with the owners paying around $810,000 for the team. The owners were Thoothukudi Sports and Entertainment Private Limited, a new private company that is based in Thoothukudi, from which they take their name. They have been one of the most consistent teams in the league since it was founded, including a title in the opening season to justify the big spend.
  • VB Thiruvallur Veerans: The Veeran are a very popular team, mainly because they are owned by a former Indian international, V.B. Chandrasekhan. They are based in the city of Tiruvallur and were the third cheapest team in the league during the purchase phase.

Tamil Nadu Premier League Stats

The first season of the Tamil Nadu Premier League was broadcast by Star India, with commentary in both English and Tamil to ensure that a broad spectrum of viewers were covered. The league itself got off to a very exciting start and had won plenty of fans over with the first few games.

By the end of the season there were a total of 31 matches played, with a massive 8823 runs scored and 430 wickets taken. The star players of the first season were Jagadeesan, who claimed the most runs of any player, while Anthony Dhas finished with the most wickets, at a total of 14.

Older Tournaments

Free Cricket Betting Tips

Sign up to our newsletter and receive daily FREE cricket betting tips and betting offers to your email!